MIDDLE SCHOOL KIDS SHOULDN’T START SCHOOL UNTIL 8:30AM

I believe that students need more sleep than schools think they do.  Many schools start way too early in the morning, and as a result, students don’t get the nine hours of sleep that their bodies require.  This can have a negative consequence on their performance at school, because according to scientific research, sleep-deprivation affects a person’s ability to remember information, have a cheerful attitude, and make decisions.  It has even been proved that a sleep-deprived brain can negatively impact other parts of the body as well. 

From my personal experience, I can assure you that all of this is completely true.  For example, I am usually more happy and prepared to go to school on Fridays, when I have a late start, than I am on other days of the week.  Though one may argue that it is the student’s fault for not going to sleep early enough, it is often not possible for the student to go to sleep at an earlier time because of extracurricular activities or a ton of homework.  Thus, it is only fair that schools shouldn’t be allowed to start before eight-thirty in the morning.

Leave a comment